UTA rep for Weber, Davis, Box Elder counties pared to 2 Davis Co. hopefuls

Wednesday , July 11, 2018 - 5:00 AM1 comment

OGDEN — The representative for Weber, Davis and Box Elder counties to the revamped Utah Transportation Authority Board of Trustees now taking shape will come from a winnowed pool of two hopefuls, both from Davis County.

Weber County commissioners on Tuesday identified the two nominees as Bret Milburn, a Davis County commissioner now serving on the UTA board, and Beth Holbrook, a member of the Bountiful City Council. Officials from Weber, Davis and Box Elder counties agreed on the two finalists, pulled from a larger pool of applicants, and now Gov. Gary Herbert will make the final selection, according to Weber County Commissioner Jim Harvey.

RELATED: Search begins for Northern Utah rep to join new UTA board

Toby Mileski is currently representing Weber County on the 16-member UTA Board of Trustees, all of them part-timers. Utah lawmakers earlier this year approved legislation overhauling the UTA, reducing the board of trustees to just three full-time members, among other things.

Another trustee will represent Salt Lake County while the third will represent Utah and Tooele counties. Herbert will also pick the other two representatives from nominees submitted by leaders in those counties, subject to Senate confirmation.

Trustees wield considerable authority, helping guide the UTA, which provides public transportation via bus, the FrontRunner commuter train, the TRAX light rail system around Salt Lake City and more. It serves Weber, Davis, Utah, Box Elder, Tooele and Salt Lake counties and has an operational budget for 2018 of $277.63 million.

Holbrook serves as president of the Utah League of Cities and Towns (ULCT) Board of Directors. She has an extensive background in real estate and currently works for Waste Management of Utah as public sector solutions manager, according to her bio on the ULCT website.

Millburn lives in Centerville and is finishing his third term as Davis County commissioner. He was eliminated from contention for a fourth term in the post at the Davis County Republican Party convention last April. Under the current UTA format, he’s serving as UTA trustee for the cities of Davis County.

The move to slash the UTA board was compelled by Senate Bill 136, a massive piece of legislation that aims to reshape UTA and the Utah Department of Transportation through a host of new provisions.

Pay for the three new trustee positions will be set by the current UTA board and cannot exceed $150,000, plus benefits. The new board will assume control no later than Nov. 1.

Contact reporter Tim Vandenack at tvandenack@standard.net, follow him on Twitter at @timvandenack or like him on Facebook at Facebook.com/timvandenackreporter.

Sign up for e-mail news updates.